NAKO Board

Currently, our Board includes three members:

Andrew Bain 

President of Atlantic Group

Andrew Bain is a retired US Marine Colonel and a graduate of Yale College and the University of Michigan Business School. Mr. Bain served on both reserve and active duty as an infantry officer including in support of the US Defense Attaché Office in Kyiv.

In 1992, he founded Atlantic Group Limited, Ukraine’s first communications company with currently more than 250 international and local clients. Atlantic Group works in strategic partnership and joint ventures with companies such as Omnicom, WPP, Ketchum, OMD and other international communications groups. 

In 2014, Mr. Bain co-founded the Ukrainian Freedom Fund (UFF), a Kyiv-based non-governmental organization that supported the Ukrainian army and volunteer units in Donbas. UFF is currently working on projects in the field of transparency and strengthening Ukraine’s defense capabilities

Andrii Borovyk

Executive Director of Transparency International Ukraine

Andrii Borovyk is an expert with more than 5-year experience in business consultation, investment analysis, and business processes in the public sector. He graduated from the National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy with a degree in Economics and received a Master’s degree in Business Analysis and Consulting (Warwick Business School, Great Britain). 

In 2015, he worked as Head of Administration Division at the Office of the Prosecutor General of Ukraine. He developed strategies for reform implementation, organized conferences and seminars for law enforcement staff members, and participated in the development of a communication platform for law enforcement.

Prior to 2015 he worked for Millennium Capital as an Investment Analyst. He produced market research reports, built-up financial models, conducted company valuation and extensive qualitative and quantitative due diligence.

Giovanni Kessler 

Former Director-General of the European Anti-Fraud Office

Giovanni Kessler served as the Director-General of the European Anti-Fraud Office (OLAF) from 2011 to 2017. OLAF is a department of the European Commission, tasked with protecting the financial interests of the European Union by investigating fraud, corruption and any other illegal activities.

After leading OLAF, Giovanni Kessler served as the Director of the Italian Customs and Monopolies Agency from 2017 to 2018. Currently Mr. Kessler is a Hors Classe Adviser at DG Budget at the European Commission.

An Italian prosecutor, who served as Public Prosecutor in the criminal courts of Trento, Bolzano and at the Anti-Mafia Department in Sicily from 1986 until 1998. He dealt with organised crime, corruption and financial crimes. In 2001, he was elected to the Italian Parliament as an independent member. He sat on the Justice Affairs Committee and during his five-year term, he authored numerous bills on the International Criminal Court, the European Convention against corruption, the International Judiciary Cooperation and the European Arrest Warrant. From 2003-2006, he also became Vice-President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).

In 2012, he was elected President of the European Partners Against Corruption / European Anti- Corruption Network (EPAC/EACN), a formal network comprising close to fifty anti-corruption authorities from European Union Member States. The Network was set up to improve cooperation between authorities mandated with the fight against corruption in the European Union, as well as to foster closer relations between Member States and the European institutions.

In 2013, he also became a Member of the Executive Committee of the International Association of Anti-Corruption Authorities (IAACA). IAACA has more than three hundred organisational members which cover nearly all law enforcement national institutions and bodies entrusted with the task of fighting against corruption and more than two thousand individual members, including prosecutors, investigators and experts with experience in anti-corruption research or practice.

We thank the outgoing Board: Katherine Dixon, Leah Wawro, Volodymyr Ohryzko, James Wasserstrom, and Steve Francis for being NAKO’s first Board and their contribution in establishing NAKO as an independent organization.